Posted by: kenziekat | February 5, 2010

BLIZZZZZZZZZZARD


In the last two hours, about four inches of snow has plummeted to the ground. My camera seems to be dead or I would show you pictures. The boyfriend had to be at work by 9 across town, and got stuck at my house. He just ran two miles in the snow because I refused to drive him. I’m terrified of driving in the snow.

Kenzie, on the other hand, is loving the fact that her mamma and friend Brooke are snowed in. She’s stared out the window watching the Fire Department plow snow with a four-wheeler for the last hour. She’s never seen snow like this before, and quite frankly, I’m not sure I have either. There is advisories for the whole state!

I work at the County Courthouse, and we even got out four hours early today. Everyone is FREAKING OUT about this storm. How lovely it must be to be a cat, with no knowledge of the storm surrounding us.

I hope we don’t lose electric. The warnings for my area say:

“A WINTER STORM WARNING REMAINS IN EFFECT UNTIL 6 PM EST SATURDAY.

SNOW… HEAVY AT TIMES… WILL CONTINUE THROUGH THE OVERNIGHT HOURS. THE INTENSITY OF THE SNOW WILL GRADUALLY DIMINISH DURING THE DAY SATURDAY… WITH SCATTERED SNOW SHOWERS BY LATE SATURDAY AFTERNOON. THE SNOW MAY BRIEFLY MIX WITH RAIN OR SLEET EARLY THIS EVENING NEAR AND SOUTH OF INTERSTATE 70. EXPECT TOTAL SNOW ACCUMULATION OF 8 TO 14 INCHES WITH LOCAL AMOUNTS TO 18 INCHES THROUGH SATURDAY AFTERNOON.

A WINTER STORM WARNING FOR HEAVY SNOW MEANS SEVERE WINTER WEATHER CONDITIONS ARE EXPECTED OR OCCURRING. SIGNIFICANT AMOUNTS OF SNOW ARE FORECAST THAT WILL MAKE TRAVEL DANGEROUS. ONLY TRAVEL IN AN EMERGENCY. IF YOU MUST TRAVEL… KEEP AN EXTRA FLASHLIGHT… FOOD… AND WATER IN YOUR VEHICLE IN CASE OF AN EMERGENCY.

Particularly the EIGHTEEN INCHES concerns me. Makes me wish I had a fireplace or some sort of alternative heat. Poor Kenzie and I may just freeze to death tonight…I’ll keep you updated. Until then, Kenzie and I will cuddle and watch movies with our friend Brooke, for lack of anything better to do.

Maybe we’ll play fetch some, too.

cat tip of the day: during snow storms, love your cat.

Leave a Reply

Categories

