Posted by: kenziekat | February 5, 2010

I attract cats.


So as you may or may not know, I am a student (hence the reason for this blog). However, I finish up my undergraduate degree in Broadcast News in May (THANK GOD!); thus this is my last semester as an undergrad (YAY)!

I took fourteen credit hours consisting of the following super difficult classes (HA):

  1. Blogging
  2. Frisbee
  3. Vocal Class
  4. WVU News
  5. Civil Liberties Law (ICK)
  6. and HORSEMANSHIP II

Today, my post in regards to class number 6: Horsemanship. The class consists of five other girls; three of which are coal mining majors. As you may imagine, the pageant girl is a bit of an outcast. They do not have fake nails, cats, and most definately do NOT have cats with fake nails. They act like I am a doll.

They were not aware of my cat lady syndrome until today.

Every class we retrieve our horses (my horse’s name is Banana and he is older than me), brush them, clean their hoofs, and tack them up. This takes about twenty minutes. In that twenty minutes today, I found a barn cat. He was such a sweet barn cat I just had to pick him up. I tried to do this discretely–the coalminers probably wouldn’t like me much anymore if they knew I was a crazy cat lady.

Unfortunately, when I picked up the first barn cat, it made another barn cat JUMP FROM THE RAFTERS to my feet. Barn cat number two was clearly jealous.

At this point, my fellow classmates were aware that a cat had just jumped twenty feet to be near me, and had starting commenting when Barn Cat number three ran to my feet.

So here I am, three barn cats later trying to act like I’m not loving every second of the cat attention. But the truth is, I just can’t help it. I love cats, and they love me. And now, my whole class knows it. I held all three equally, and was late getting into the arena with Banana.

They called me a crazy cat lady on the way home

Are you a crazy cat lady? TELL ME WHY! and then, check out this book I found (it has a great preview). I may buy it soon. I’ll let you know how it goes.

cat tip of the day: when trying to hide your crazy cat ladyness, it is best to avoid cats all together or embrace it wholeheartedly. there is no inbetween. cats know a crazy cat lady when they see one, even barn cats.

Responses

  1. So I decided to check your blog out after we talked about it in class on Tuesday. Kenzie is adorable! I would like to think being in class full of coal mining majors (I didn’t even know you could major in that) would be intimidating in itself. Anyway just wanted to let you know that I’m enjoying your blog and Kenzie’s pink nails and her enthusiasm for fetching.

  2. you’re like the cat whisperer.

    can we just talk about the fact that your horses name is Banana? Oh wow, that’s good.


Leave a Reply

Categories

